Landscapes

I almost never paint backgrounds. It’s something that I’m not a big fan of, and maybe a bit scared of, so I haven’t practiced landscapes for years now. That’s why I decided to challenge myself into painting some quick and small landscapes with a limit of one hour for each one (The one with the horse was most difficult for me and took 2 hours).

all1

 

~ by rafiba on April 18, 2009.

3 Responses to “Landscapes”

  1. Success! I like that you keep challenging yourself, iz cool. The 1st painting is my favorite.

    Crit: I think such quick and small sketches can be looser, some of them have feel too much about details and too little about composition of shapes. In my taste at least.

  2. what technique did you use?
    feels realy realistic especially the first one,
    the water are amazing

  3. Thanks for the comments!
    Doron – I agree with you that in such quick images it cam be a lot looser. But this exercise had another goal and it was to practice some matte painting techniques, so I wanted them to be high quality.

    Elin – I used several techniques to speed up the process, such as custom made brushes especially for each image like branches and trees, random spots, slanted brushes and so on. Using layers was also a big help in dividing for-ground mid and back-ground elements.

Leave a Reply

 
